

5th Floor Prithvi Wing Indira Paryvaran Bhawan Jor Bagh Road, Aliganj New Delhi - 110003

Date: 20 March 2023

Order

Subject: - Designation of repositories under the Biological Diversity Act, 2002.

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 39 of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002, read with sections 6 and 12 of Notification S.O. 1911(E), dated 8th November, 2006, and in continuation of this Ministry's Orders dated 28th August, 2008, 12th September, 2012, 8th July 2013, 21st January 2020 and 25th September 2020, the Ministry of Environment, Forest & Climate Change, Government of India, hereby designates the Herbarium of the Department of Botany, University of Calicut as the repository under the Act for flowering plants.

- 2. In accordance with sub-section (2) of Section 39 of the Act, the designated repository shall also keep in safe custody the representative samples, as voucher specimens of the biological material accessed in accordance with the provisions of Section 19 of the Act, alongwith relevant information related to the material, such as DNA fingerprints, if so required by the National Biodiversity Authority (NBA).
- 3. The designated repository shall also keep in safe custody the type specimen deposited by any person who discovers a new taxon, in accordance with sub-section (3) of Section 39 of the Act.
- 4. This order issues with the approval of the competent authority.

(Dr. Satyendra Kumar)

Director

CS.III Division

e-mail: satyendra.kumar07@nic.in

To.

1. Dr. A.K. Pradeep, Curator-In-Charge, Calicut University Herbarium,

- Department of Botany, Calicut University, Kerala-673635.
- 2. Secretary, Department of Biotechnology, Ministry of Science & Technology, CGO Complex, Lodhi Road, New Delhi-110 003.
- 3. Director, Botanical Survey of India, CGO Complex, 3rd MSO Building, Block F, DL Block, Sector 1, Salt Lake City, Kolkata 700 064.
- 4. Director, Zoological Survey of India (ZSI), Prani Vigyan Bhawan, M- Block, New Alipore, Kolkata 700 053.
- 5. Director, National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources, Pusa Campus, New Delhi-110 012.
- 6. Director, National Botanical Research Institute, Rana Pratap Marg, P. B. No. 436, Lucknow- 226 001, U.P.
- 7. Director General, Indian Council of Forestry Research & Education, P. O. New Forests, Dehradun- 248 006, Uttarakhand.
- 8. Director, National Bureau of Animal Genetic Resources, Makrampur Campus, G.T. Road Bye Pass, Near Basant Vihar, P.O. Box 129, Karnal (Haryana)-132001.
- 9. Director, National Bureau of Fish Genetic Resources, Canal Ring Road, P.O Dilkusha, Telibagh, Lucknow- 226 002, Uttar Pradesh.
- 10. Director, National Institute of Oceanography, Dona Paula 403 004, Goa.
- 11. Director, Wildlife Institute of India, P.B. No. 18, Chandrabani, Dehradun —248 001, Uttarakhand.
- 12. Director, National Bureau of Agriculturally Important Micro-ogranisms, Kusmaur (Post Bag Kaithauli), Post Box. No. 6, Mau Nath Bhanjan, Uttar Pradesh- 275 101.
- 13. Director, Institute of Microbial Technology, Sector 39-A, Chandigarh 160 036.
- 14. Director, National Institute of Virology, 20-A, Dr. Ambedkar Road, P.B.No.11, Pune- 411 001.
- 15. Director, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, Pusa Road, New Delhi-110012.
- 16. Director, National Bureau of Agriculturally Important Insects (NBAII), P.O. No. 2491, H.A. Farm Post, Bellary Road, Bangalore-560 024.
- 17. Scientist 'F' and Principal Investigator, Microbial Culture Collection (MCC), National Centre for Cell Science (NCCS), NCCS Complex, University of Pune Campus, Ganeshkhind, Pune- 411 007.
- 18. Directors of institutions designated as repositories under the Biological Diversity Act, 2002

Copy to:

- 1. Chairman, National Biodiversity Authority, Chennai
- 2. Secretary, National Biodiversity Authority, Chennai