## Agro-biodiversity Hotspots of India

S. No.	Hotspot Region	Areas Covered
1.	Cold Desert	Western Himalyas covering Ladakh and Kargil. Upper reaches of Lahuai-Spiti districts of Himachal Pradesh.
2.	Western Himalayan	Districts of Srinagar, Anantnag, Udhamput, Riasi, Kathna in Jammu & Kashmir, all the districts of Himachal Pradesh except the cold arid region and all the districts of Uttarakhand.
3.	Eastern Himalayan	All the districts of Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Darjeeling district of West Bengal.
4.	Brahmaputra Valley	Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon, Barpeta, Nalbari, Goalpara, Kamrup, Golaghat, Darrang, Morigaon, Nagaon, Sonitpur, Jorhat, Lakhimpur, Sibsagar, Dibrugarh, Dhemaji and Tinsukia.
5.	Khasia-Jaintia-Garo Hills	All the seven districts of Meghalaya,i.e. East Garo Hills, West Garo Hills, South Garo Hills, East Khasi Hills, West Khasi Hills, Jaintia Hills and Ri-Bhoi.
6.	North-Eastern Hills	All the districts of Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tripura and the adjoining Cachar and North Cachar districts of Asom.
7.	Arid Western	Sikar, Nagaur, Pali, Hanumangarh, Ganganagar, Jalore, Sirohi, Jodhpur, parts of Jaisalmer and Bikaner, Udaipur, Dungarpur, Churu, and Jhunjhunun districts of Rajastahan.
8.	Malwa Plateau and Central Highlands	Malwa plateau, Central highlands, the Mewar plateau and semi- arid south-eastern Rajasthan. Shadel, Raisen, Bhopal, Sehore, Shajapur, Indore, Ujjain, Mandasaur, Rajgarh Hoshangabad, Narsinghpur, Jabalpur, Mandla, Umaria districts.
9.	Kathiawar	Ahemadabad, Surendranagar, Jamnagar, Rajkot, Porbandar, Junagadh, Amreli, Bhavnagar, Bharuch, Surat, Navsari, Valsad, Banaskantha and Anand districts of Gujarat.
10.	Bundelkhand	Districts of Jhansi, Banda, Chitrakoot, Hamirpur, Jalaun and Lalitpur in Uttar Pradesh and Damoha, Datia, Panna, Sagar, Tikamagarh and Chattarpur in Madhya Pradesh.
11.	Upper Gangetic Plains	Districts of Hardoi, Sitapur, Barabanki, Lucknow, Unnao, Rae Bareilly, Kanpur, Kannuj of Central Uttar Pradesh and the districts of Maharajganj, Sidharatnagar, Kushinagar, Deoria, Sant Kabir Nagar, Gorakhpur, Basti of North-eastern Uttar Pradesh.

12.	Lower Gangetic Plains	Districts of Paschim Champaran, Purbi Champaran, Gopalganj, Siwan, Sitamarhi, Muzaffarpur, Saran, Buxar, Bhojpur, Patna, Rohatas, Jahanabad, Vaishali, Samastipur, Darbangha, Madhubani, Sheohar in North Bihar.
13.	Gangetic Delta	Broadly includes the deltaic 24-Parganas districts, and the districts of Hoogly, Howrah, Nadia, Bardhaman, Birbhum and Murshidabad.
14.	Chotanagpur	Districts of Singhbhum, Gumla, Ranchi, Lohardaga, Palamau and Hazaribagh and Santhal Pargana in Jharkhand and Mayurbhanj district in Orissa.
15.	Bastar	Districts of Bastar, Bilaspur, Durg, Jashpur, Kabirdham, Kanker, Kirba, Koria, Mahasamund, Kondaigaon, and Rajnangoan of Chattisgarh.
16.	Koraput	Districts of Malkangiri, Sonabeda, Jeypore, Koraput, Nabrangpur, Kalahandi, Bolangir, Rayagada of Orissa and districts of north eastern Andhra Pradesh i.e. Srikakulam, Vijanagaram and Vizagapatnam.
17.	Southern Eastern Ghats	Districts of Chittoor, Ananthapur, Cuddapah and Kurnoolin Andhra
18.	Kaveri	Districts of Chengal put, South Arcot, North Arcot, Thiuvannamalai, Tiruchirapalli, Pudukottai, Thiruarur, Vellore, Kanchipuram, Dharmapuri, Salem, Namakkal, Karur and Dindigal.
19.	Deccan	Districts of Jalna, Hingoli, Parbhani, Beed, Nanded, latur, Osmanabad, Solapur, Sangli, Gondia, Gadchiroli in Maharashtra, districts of Adilabad, Karimnagar, Warangal and Khamman in Andhra Pradesh and districts of Bidar and Gulbarga in Karnataka.
20.	Konkan	Coastal districts of Thane, Raigad, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg and part of Sahyadridistricts of Pune, Satara and Kolhapur of Maharashtra, all the districts of Goa and Uttar Kannda district of Karnataka.
21.	Malabar	Districts of Kasargod, Kannur, Wayanad, Kozikode, Malappuram, Palakkad, Thrissur, Idukki, Ernakulam, Alappuza, Kollam, Kottayam, Pathanamthitta & Thiruvananthpuram in Kerala, Udhagamandalam (Nilgiri) and Kanyakumari districts of Tamil Nadu and districts of Dakshin Kannada, Kodagu and Udipi in Karnataka.
22.	Islands	Andaman and Nicobar Islands and lakshadweep

Source: PPVFRA, New Delhi